Chinese (Red) String Theory

 String Theory, for those who without a physics degree or have never watched The Elegant Universe on PBS, is the idea that all matter is composed of tiny, vibrating strings.  What makes an apple different from an orange?  A dog different from a cat?  You different from me?

Basically, because everything dances to its own vibration.

String Theory is a Theory of Everything.  Unfortunately, we lack the ability to view (and test) something even smaller than an electron, and thus it cannot be proven or disproven.  Yet.

Chinese (Red) String Theory is based on this simple proverb:

An invisible red thread connects those who are destined to meet, regardless of time, place, or circumstances. The thread may stretch or tangle but will never break.

Red Ribbon by MissVixy

While most commonly thought of as being about two lovers, connected by a thin, red string of fate, the proverb does not discriminate the type or limit itself to one specific relationship.

 What if, instead, we are born with a red string tethering us to everyone we will ever meet?  Wouldn’t that mean we’re all connected?  Perhaps not directly, but through someone else we’re attached to?  And so on and so forth until…

It is the Theory of EveryONE.

 Though most proverbs were written long before computers and the internet were conceived, I like to believe everyone who comes across this blog was destined to do so for one reason or another.  Just as it’s mine to read yours. 

To everyone who finds themselves here today, may your Valentine’s Day be filled with shortened red strings to the people you love.

 ~SMH

 

This entry was posted in Blogging, love, The Holidays and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

23 Responses to Chinese (Red) String Theory

  1. subWOW says:

    Happy Valentine’s Day sweetie sugar bunny!

    That picture is so much more beautiful than the image I have whenever I am reminded of this belief. The Old Man who Keeps the Book and Ties the Red Strings. Not making this up….

    http://www.hwjyw.com/zyzx/jxsc/zgwh/200911/t20091105_33344.shtml
    :-)

  2. Elly Lou says:

    You had me at “vibrations.”

  3. Eva Gallant says:

    Is this what originated the sayings, “I’m at the end of my rope” and “Give him enough rope and he’ll hang himself”?

  4. Andrea says:

    Awwww, that’s pretty sweet! As long as the strings don’t cut off my circulation, I love it. :)

  5. pattypunker says:

    your little red string can tug my heartstrings any day of the year.

    happy valentines day, sugar plum. ♥

  6. This is one of my favorite post of yours. I never knew it was an actually theory that people were connected! I thought that was just my strange mind… But it wasn’t and I’m glad. I hope you had a great Valentine’s.

  7. Kat says:

    That was really beautiful, and despite my rejection of romantic notions, I… *sigh* I still believe it. More than ever in the past two months, too, it seems.

    I linked over from Patty’s blog. I’m glad I did.~ I’ll be back, Sister.~

  8. brent says:

    well I am getting some flack from my roommate about wearing a red threaded rope bracelet and I don’t know what to tell her? i told her that I honestly just found the rope and decided to put it on my wrist, but she doesnot beleive me and she says it is klahhahblallism or however u spell it

  9. Teresa says:

    Hi, I was watching this new show called “Touch” and it was about the red string theory. And that is how I came across this blog. I really want to know more about this and I definitely think that everything happens for a reason.

  10. ALDO MARTINEZ says:

    COULDN’T AGREE MORE … I ONCE READ THAT EVERYTHING HAPPENS FOR A REASON, A SEASON OR A LIFETIME … SO MAYBE WE’LL BE SEING

  11. Niti says:

    Saw a series called TOUCH and came to know about the red thread theory and I don’t think its myth. Its so amazing how few months back was talking to a new employee who was my flatmate about destiny, as he asked me what the tattoo on my left wrist means as it was in Japanese and it means DESTINY. He saw series and asked me to watch as I am firm believer of destiny and he knew I will enjoy it which was true I totally loved the series which interest me to find out about this RED THREAD theory.. and here I am writing a comment…Don’t know why but I had to write.

  12. Sarah says:

    How beautiful and I too truly believe this. Its strange that on a day when I was feeling sad and missing someone whom I loved so much, by chance I saw this. So I believe I found this to give me hope that one day we may meet. Thank you. Sarah

  13. Bren says:

    Your blog post perfectly captures what I believe about the red string. Thank you for writing this.

  14. Quick says:

    The show Touch led me here too. Exploring for more on the red string of fate.

  15. Stacy says:

    This theory is correct. I can see the true connection, to the point of understanding how no one gets left behind; you know like it says in the bible. It is impossible to explain, other then the most grand master piece that holds things most couldn’t digest. I do understand its blessings and responsibilities having this site. It comes natural, but can be lonely because you can never explain what you see. Most people carry so much shame they reject the help, if they only knew that was a man made curse and holds no merit to whom it matters most. Is it seeing is believing or believing is seeing? Red string goes behold a soul mate my friends. I don’t want to be found for good reason…

Leave a Reply

